Shared Board of Directors for Transport Sector

Published Date Written by Super User


The new Government appointed Five new Shared Board of Director member for Tonga's 'Transport Sector' on May 9, 2016. 


The Cabinet of the new Government of Mr. 'Akilisi Pohiva appointed the new Shared Board members which under the Tonga Governmnet Ministry of Public Enterprises the Transport Sector, comprised of the following Public Enterprises (PEs):

  1. Ports Authority Tonga(PAT)
  2. Tonga Airports Limited(TAL)
  3. Friendly Islands Shipping Agency(FISA)


The successful Shared Directors appointees for the Transport Sector are:

  1. Mr. Stephen Edwards
  2. Dr. Cpt. Sione Tu‘itupou Fotu
  3. Mr. Viliami Takau Jr.
  4. Mr. Tomifa Paea
  5. Mrs. Helen Po‘uliva‘ati Toli

Mr. Edwards has been appointed as Chairperson, with Dr. Fotu as Deputy Chairperson. The appointees have been equally granted an initial service term of one year with a possible extension of up to three years.


Fairness & Due Process

The Ministry commenced implementing policies and guidelines on the Reform Shared Directors for Public Enterprises Program, as approved by Cabinet on 12 June 2015. 

The selection and appointment processes were implemented in accordance with the Public Enterprises Act and 'Guidelines for a Skills Based Selection and Appointment Process for Public Enterprises Directors'. The Cabinet also approved for the Hon. Minister of Public Enterprises to appoint members of an Independent Selection Committee (ISC) to select the appropriate directors, subsequently, submitting it to the Minister for his discretion and Cabinet’s consent. 

The Shared Directors vacancies for the Transport Sector were advertised on local newspapers and websites, with the availability of Post Descriptions on request. The Transport Sector ISC was appointed as an independent and impartial pre-screening body to analyze and shortlist applicants for interview, prior to submitting a proposal of prospective appointees for the Minister’s due consideration and approval.



We have 81 guests and no members online

2011 Shared Board of Directors for Transport Sector - Ports Authority Tonga. | Web Development, Design and Administrator by Ports Authority Tonga
Powered by Joomla 1.7 Templates